DOWNLOAD ONLY LEMS-8050"> J.S. Bach: Cantata No. 10, Cantata No. 47 DOWNLOAD ONLY LEMS-8050 – World Music Store
Cart 0
J.S. Bach: Cantata No. 10, Cantata No. 47 <font color="bf0606"><i>DOWNLOAD ONLY</i></font> LEMS-8050

J.S. Bach: Cantata No. 10, Cantata No. 47 DOWNLOAD ONLY LEMS-8050

Digital Download available from your favorite site including


Download free liner notes below (Mac users use Ctrl + click)

An historic recording of two of Bach's most beautiful cantatas, performed by some of the most celebrated names in baroque music, including tenor Nigel Rogers. Features a newly written essay by Jeffrey Dooley, and brand new text translations to English by linguist Z. Phillip Ambrose.

"...exemplifies the gradually emerging awareness of “historically informed” interpretations of J.S. Bach's music. Here Paul Steinitz utilizes an instrumental group of, chiefly, one player to a part and a chorus of twenty singers, approximating the dimensions of Bach's own ensembles...The Steinitz recording is one of the early examples of historically informed performance practices which have led us to the happy situation in which we find ourselves today. This beautiful CD deserves to be heard by every early-music enthusiast.” - Jeffrey Dooley

"The soloists are all good; Neil Hewlett is a bit heavy for today's tastes in Bach basses, but the others, notably a young Nigel Rogers, are very satisfying. Steinitz does a good job moving things along, and textures are nicely clear...If you like Rilling, you'll probably enjoy what is here"
American Record Guide March/April. 2005


Cantata No. 10 Meine Seel erhebt den Herren
1. Chorus - 3:49
2. Aria (S) - 8:37
3. Recit. (T) - 1:36
4. Aria (B) - 3:56
5. Duetto (e Choral) - 2:18
6. Recitativo (T) - 2:30
7. Choral - 1:11

Cantata No. 47 Wer sich selbst erhöhet der soll erniedriget sein
8. Chorus [Dictum] (SATB) - 6:01
9. Aria (S) - 11:12
10. Recit. (B) - 2:13
11. Aria (B) - 4:53
12. Chorale (SATB) - 0:53

Total Running Time 49:10

Additional Information

For complete info on Bach Cantatas, visit the Bach Cantatas Website.

We Also Recommend